 SCAM: Enom inccurate whois information
It has come to our attention over the last 24 hours that a lot of our customers have been receiving emails with a title similar to "Attention: Inaccurate whois information" purporting to come from the ENOM domain name registrar. Be advised that this is a scam email and any links contained therein should not be clicked under any circumstances.
Although the links within the email appear to point to the valid www.enom.com website, the underlying address is actually another site which was set up in Russia within the last 48 hours, with the intention of tricking people into providing their login details.
All domain names managed by K-Point on your behalf will be administered and renewed automatically by us, and invoiced by us. You should not correspond with any other party relating to your domain names. If in doubt, please call us on 028 4175 4836.
SCAM: Domain Registry of America
Another paper-based scam which has been circulating recently involves quite urgent-sounding reminder letters stating that your domain name(s) are about to expire, and should be renewed immediately (within the next 4 weeks normally) by sending a cheque to the Domain Registry of America, or other such organisations.
Again, we underline that this is a scam and should be disposed of without reply. These letters are cleverly worded as "reminders that the name renewal date is approaching" and stating that by paying them your name will be renewed. The names will be automatically renewed by K-Point on their renewal dates.
|